you're reading...
Around DC

Memorial Day 2012 – Arlington National Cemetery

Did I tell you that I love DC? Well, I’m pretty sure I have by now. And there are many reasons… but one of them is because it’s the home of so many awesome places. I was able to visit one of those awesome places, Arlington National Cemetery, this week on Memorial Day.

It definitely wasn’t my first time visiting, but I’ve never been on a military-focused holiday. Honestly, I’m not sure if I’m sad or pleased that I missed the ceremony that took place earlier in the day.

While I would have loved to attend the ceremony that morning and participate with others (I heard the President stopped by), I’m not sure that I wanted to put my heart through that (I’ve been sort of cry-baby recently). I know that America uses the day to celebrate in remembrance, but there is still a bit of sadness that comes to me thinking about the many lives lost of the families that remained behind.

I was at the cemetery for a while, but only took pictures for part of that visit. I used the rest of my time to experience the day and reflect. I hope you’re not mad at me for that.

PICTURES: I hope you like them. It’s weird having brainstormed a few shots and then actually being near the graves again and seeing the names and … well, just thinking about it all.

CLICK HERE TO SEE MORE PICTURES

Today, I’m thankful for freedom and life and for memory and for scars. God bless.

About gjames432

Just me and just pictures and stories and stories and pictures.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Memorial Day 2012 – Arlington National Cemetery

  1. Nice, James. Really nice. These are pics that make you pause, think, and be thankful. I’m sure it was pretty moving in the moment. It’s ok to cry. ❤

    Posted by Leslie | June 1, 2012, 3:31 pm
  2. Every year I tell myself to go down to the cemetery and year after year I never make it out. I’m glad you made the time to show you’re respect. I’m a bit jealous. You’ve captured a few shots that i’ve pictured taking myself. Have you considered going to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier for the changing of the guard. That’s pretty neat too.

    Posted by Dhelice | June 4, 2012, 9:30 pm
  3. *moment of silence* Great way to reflect. I visited a similar cemetery in Chicago. Great work and observance of life as usual!

    Posted by Myrica | June 11, 2012, 8:38 pm

Leave a Reply

