you're reading...
Events

Life is short. Smile Often. Wuzzup!?

How big is your smile?

Make sure you subscribe to this blog, follow this blog, and also follow me on Twitter @ CMediaUSA!

Wuh–zzuuuup!!!!!?? Anyone used to watch the show ‘Martin’? That was his signature version of “what’s up?” as he started his talk radio show, which he hosted. I say it now and again when I see a friend that gets me super excited or maybe someone that I love, but haven’t seen I ages. (wuzzup Ny!?)

It reminds me of the excitement that one of my friend’s sons had when he was very small. He would see me and break out in full sprint towards me… hands up and arms wide open… jumping into my arms. My obligation was to catch him of course, and then spin him around giving the tightest hug I could muster at the moment and delivering some loud version of ‘wuuuuhzzuuuup!!!!!’ And of course, when I had a lil change on me (why lil man start asking for ‘the kind that folds’ at age six?), I’d slide him a few quarters.

And then….it seemed like things changed overnight. Soon I would see lil man and he just nodded his head at me to say hi. The audacity! No running? No hug? A freaking head nod though!!? Are you too big to get spun around now? #really?

I realized that our excitement-filled greeting was just as rewarding for me as it was for his younger self; maybe even more so. One day he just ended it and forgot to send me the email. #sigh

However, after a few of those head nods, I finally “accepted” the email. I read it, wrote a quick response (I’m speaking figuratively here people, in case you’ve had a long day lol), and then before I pressed “send,” I just deleted it. And then I went into my deleted folder and deleted it permanently.

But for kicks, this is what it would have said…

“Dear little man, I’m appalled! I don’t care if you don’t wanna hug me ‘cuz you think you’re seven now and going through a 1/7th life crisis. I’m gonna hug YOU…! And kiss your cheek and spin you around anyway; at least until you’re 10 or weigh more than I can pick up. And don’t be nodding your head at me all casually like I didn’t buy you endless happy meals last year, watch that boring cartoon movie 7 times and select YOUR Christmas presents before my own siblings. Don’t make me hurt you! Oh, I love you; punk. Wanna race?”

Outside of him still working on distinguishing b/n ‘ch’ and sh’ words, and probably not knowing what “appalled” means, I operate by a mantra my mama used to say all of the time “I can show you better than I can tell you.” And that’s just what I do.

Have you ever had to write someone a letter saying you don’t really care about their attitude and that you were gonna love on them anyway? I do it all of the time.

“Life is short. Smile often. Wuh-zzup!?” –Gee James

I smiled just thinking about that lil story. The same excitement and energy that kids bring to us is what I want to bring to others; those I haven’t seen in years as well as those I saw just a few hours before. It makes both sides feel good and I believe it’s healthy for our minds and hearts alike.

Speaking of smiles… I wrote the following last week thinking about a friend who was dealing with matters of the heart… and needed a smile.

on sweet days
i reflect on what ifs
and life’s gifts
wondering if it’s all it’s cracked up to be
i wonder what’s next and what’s after
and who’s walking into my life
for the upcoming chapters
or maybe they will run
the song says “in the morning”
but I wonder what are the BEST days for joy to come…
every day i say!
so every day

i

SMILE
even the days I don’t even fully understand the “how”
yes,… i SMILE
cuz even with the trials,
i appreciate the now
damm right.
even with the trials
i appreciate the now.

Oh, the picture is from an outdoor event this past weekend! I love it! It’s one of the best smiles I’ve seen in a while and it makes me smile! Check out the crumbs he invited to the picture. 🙂

Today, I’m thankful for friends who will “come get me,” hug me and share their smiles with me when I need one. And I’m thankful for the opportunity to pay it forward – and being able to spell Wuddap 20 million different ways! Amen.

About gjames432

Just me and just pictures and stories and stories and pictures.

Discussion

14 thoughts on “Life is short. Smile Often. Wuzzup!?

  1. Nice poem! “Even with the smiles I appreciate the now.” I also like your story about little man. I’ve rarely chosen to love on someone anyway. Might need to put that into practice!

    Posted by Sheryl's Pearls | August 13, 2012, 9:58 am
  2. I love this picture, and the story you told. Its amazing how a much a simple smile could brighten up your day.

    Posted by Elise | August 13, 2012, 10:32 am
  3. I got you covered on the smiles and hugs. 🙂

    Posted by Dee | August 13, 2012, 10:52 am
  4. Super cute picture…definitely made me smile. Nice post today! 🙂

    Posted by Cherie' | August 13, 2012, 11:23 am
  5. Love the story and the crumbs! 🙂

    Posted by Mia | August 13, 2012, 12:32 pm
  6. Have you seen the commercial where the mom is talking about her teen son “holding in all his excitment” about a new pair of shoes? That’s all Little Man is doing but I feel your pain☺ Send him that email, keep huggin and kissin him and soon he’ll learn that it’s o.k. for confident men of all ages to “show some love”.

    Posted by Melissa | August 13, 2012, 1:26 pm
  7. 🙂

    Posted by sharon | August 14, 2012, 12:27 am
  8. cute story. love the pic! maybe you can show me how to use my dslr that i barely pick up *shaking my head* nice blog 🙂

    Posted by SweetBonita | August 16, 2012, 7:55 am

Leave a Reply

