you're reading...
Uncategorized

Ms. Kelli – on Birthdays, Perseverance and Health

Greetings!

I’ve been pretty excited about sharing today’s post with you for … well, for several days! Meet my good friend, Kelli! She has an amazing personality and a captivating smile (which you can see clearly). And to top that off, she has a heart of gold. And oh, she’s a proud graduate of HU (ETCHU!!!)

Her birthday (27 years young!) was last week so we hit the streets of DC to capture her just being her. We didn’t really have a set plan nor location when we started, but I knew that with my eye, my experience, and her willingness to smile on command, we wouldn’t have many issues.

The photos were taken near DC’s Historic U Street. We were on our way to Adam’s Morgan but we found just what we needed by walking around.

I’m always interested in what motivates people, so I hope you enjoy some of Kelli’s responses to a few questions I asked her.

What’s your most memorable birthday? On my 16th birthday, my mother said I could date! I was excited!! So there was a local spot that was famous for making out. We were actually just curious to see what the hype was about, but when we got there was a swarm of police that surrounded our car. I guess we matched the description of some people who had been involved with drugs. It’s funny looking back now, but then all I could say was “Please don’t tell my mama!”

What motivates you?  What motivates me the most is my mother. As a single parent, she provided for in more ways than one. I remember growing up and her making me a promise that we would live in a house before I graduated high school. It may seem small to many, but it was huge to us. So even though times got hard and we had to move in with my grandmother at one point, she didn’t let that stop her.

I’ll never forget the day we moved in to our new house because I knew that she worked hard to get us there; not only for me but for US. That perseverance and passion is what motivates me today to achieve greatness for myself.

In what ways do you give back?  I strive to motivate individuals to lead a healthy lifestyle and promote health awareness whether via social media or simply by just talking with others about how to be healthier.

One of the most gratifying experiences I have had giving back to the community was when I became involved with Children’s Hospital on an initiative helping adolescents and teens dealing with Diabetes. Our goal was to not only help them understand the importance of diabetes management but to guide and mentor them to make healthy lifestyle choices. I would have to say that down the line I would like to start a similar initiative because health awareness is so important to me and is needed in our community.

Kelli, thanks for allowing me to capture you and celebrate your birthday with you!

Wanna see more pictures from this shoot? CLICK HERE Oh, be sure to subscribe to this blog if you haven’t already!

Today, I’m thankful for smiles and the perseverance of our mothers. God bless.

About gjames432

Just me and just pictures and stories and stories and pictures.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Ms. Kelli – on Birthdays, Perseverance and Health

  1. Really Great Pic’s James. I love the vibrancy of the colors.

    Posted by Dee | June 18, 2012, 10:05 am
  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY.. AND GREAT PHOTOS

    Posted by Yeni Makinde | June 18, 2012, 10:18 am
  3. Very nice shoot. The colors pop and you get a good feel for the models personality.

    Posted by Daren DeLong | June 18, 2012, 10:29 am
  4. Love the colors! They really make the shoot pop!

    Posted by tanisha | June 18, 2012, 10:40 am
  5. Love this post – the photos, format and content. Keep up the great work!

    Posted by Crystal Nicole Davis | June 18, 2012, 10:45 am
  6. beautiful pics. i can tell she’s not camera-shy [like me]. looked like she was enjoying herself.
    those responses to your questions, i love, esp about the house. i hope i’m a motivator and inspire my boys.
    awesome blog!

    Posted by sharon | June 18, 2012, 10:47 am
  7. Good stuff GJ! I love her smile and I know a smile that natural comes when a subject is really comfortable with the photographer. Nice job on walking around getting shots. I know that can be tricky sometimes so kudos to you. The last pic is probably my fave.

    Is that a new logo?? Looks GOOD 😉

    Posted by Curvy_dva | June 18, 2012, 11:17 am
  8. Absolutely beautiful! Happy Birthday Ms_Kelli!

    Posted by Elisha | June 18, 2012, 4:15 pm
  9. Happy Birthday and great shoot!

    Posted by goldnglitters | June 18, 2012, 5:19 pm
  10. There is nothing more awesome than capturing a person story through pictures! Great work!

    Posted by Angel L McNeil | June 18, 2012, 7:48 pm

Leave a Reply

